lbeautyandfashionblog

A collaboration of the latest beauty and fashion collections. Stay in the know.

Lime Crime Candy Apple Carousel Gloss for Winter 2011 – Review & Swatches

Lime Crime Candy Apple Carousel Gloss for Winter 2011

Described as ‘ruby red with crimson glitter” (Limited Edition).

Release Date: Monday, November 28th 2011
Price: $17.00US each for 3.5 g/0.12 oz. or $65.00US for the collection.
Available at: Lime Crime and the usual stockists.


This is a highly pigmented deep red gloss packed with lots of red glitter. It is a little lighter than the swatch on Lime Crime’s website, and I personally don’t apply it as thickly as it appears in the official lip swatch either.

These lipglosses are opaque, moisturizing, thick and sticky and are also lightly vanilla scented. I did not find them gloppy unless I applied too much product. The applicator brushes appear similar to MAC’s Dazzleglasses, however the Carousel Glosses brush is about half the size and has a smaller tapered tip for more precise application. In my opinion, this is necessary for pigmented glosses so the product can be applied accurately. But I do feel that the Carousel Glosses applicator could be longer, in order to collect more product from the tube.

Candy Apple needed reapplication every 3 – 4 hours, sometimes after drinking and always after eating. However, when layered over a red lipstick, it wears for up to six hours. Once removed, this product slightly stained my lips a pink-red, but did not leave any glitter residue.

Overall, three coats were required for Candy Apple. I used two coats (one on each lip) to carefully line and fill in my lips, which created a semi-opaque red base coat. I then used a third coat over both lips to achieve opaque and even coverage. I did also find that the product moved whenever my lips pressed together, but managed to maintain its opacity and even coverage. These lipglosses will also bleed and feather if you apply too much product.

It’s still surprising that there are so few glittery red lipglosses available. Like most pigmented glosses, the Carousel Glosses are not without their issues, and are more high maintenance than your regular lipgloss. Regardless, I really love Candy Apple and can see myself using this gloss a lot in the future.

Rating:

4.5/5


Click here to see my comparison between Limes Crime’s Carousel Glosses and MAC’s Dazzleglasses.

See more photos & swatches…


Lime Crime Candy Apple Carousel Gloss


Lime Crime Candy Apple Carousel Gloss

Disclaimer: This is a honest review of a product I personally purchased. I am not currently affiliated with Lime Crime. All photos are taken in daylight without flash. I will only post photographs that I feel closely resemble the product.

Click here to see my comparison between Limes Crime’s Carousel Glosses and MAC’s Dazzleglasses.

Do you own a red glitter lipgloss?

Leave A Comment

